Department of Educational Psychology and Counselling

 

Department Overview

 

The Objective of the Department of Educational Psychology and Counselling is to provide knowledge, training and research in the field of education and counseling at the undergraduate, graduate, and postgraduate levels. The department has 21 academic staff who are trained in counseling and the various fields of education including Educational Psychology, Measurement and Evaluation, and Special Education.

The department offers the Bachelor of Counselling and Bachelor of Early Childhood Education. The programs were established in 1997 and have attracted students from China, Singapore, Indonesia, Oman, Iran, Saudi Arabia and Maldives.

The Bachelor of Counselling programme provides education and professional training for those who aspire to be counselors in government departments or private sectors. The program is recognized by the Civil Service Department and received accreditation by the Lembaga Kaunselor Malaysia.

The Bachelor of Early Childhood Education aims to provide education and professional training for those who are interested to be educators of Early Childhood Education or establish their own early childhood education centers. To date, both programs have produced more than 500 graduates.

At the postgraduate level, the Department offers five program : Master of Early Childhood Education, Master of Counselling, Master of Education (Special Education), Master of Education (Measurement and Evaluation) and Master of Education (Education Psychology). The Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) programme is conducted either by research in five areas of study or by coursework and research in Counselling programme.


To further support its teaching and research activities, the Department has hosted several international and national seminars and conferences. The Department staff also have strong professional links with various organizations locally and internationally.

Head of Department
Lecturers

ananda 

Dr. Ananda Kumar A/L Palaniappan
Senior Research Fellow
Block D (ED 117)
Tel: 03- 7967 5046
anandak@um.edu.my

 isahak

Prof. Emeritus Dato' Dr. Isahak Haron
Senior Research Fellow
Block D
Tel: 03- 7967 5033
isahakharon@um.edu.my

diana 

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Diana Lea Baranovich
Blok B (EB 006)
Tel: 03- 7967 5194
dr.diana@um.edu.my

 loh

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Loh Sau Cheong
Menara Pendidikan (EG 508)
Tel: 03- 7967 5097
lohsch@um.edu.my

jaslaile 

Prof. Dr. Jas Laile Suzana Jaafar
Menara Pendidikan (EG 525)
Tel: 03- 7967 5095
laile@um.edu.my

mariani 

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mariani Md Nor
Block B (EB 003)
Tel: 03- 7967 5193
marianin@um.edu.my

 zahari

Accoc. Prof. Dr. Zahari Ishak
Menara Pendidikan (EG 506)
Tel: 03-7967 5137
irahaz@um.edu.my

melati 

Dr. Melati Sumari
Block E (EE 116)
Tel: 03- 7967 5049
melati@um.edu.my

shahrir

Dr. Shahrir Jamaluddin
Tel: 03-7967 5125
Blok E (EE 320)
jamaluddinshahrir@um.edu.my

hamidah

 

Dr. Hamidah Sulaiman
Block A (EA 104)
Tel: 03- 7967 5091
hamidah_s@um.edu.my

madya

 

Dr. Madhya Zhagen A/L Ganesan
Block D (ED 004)
Tel: 03- 7967 5197
madhya@um.edu.my

 

 pohli

 

Dr. Lau Poh Li
Menara Pendidikan (EG 509)
Tel: 03- 7967 5178
janicepolly@um.edu.my

 

rafidah

 

Dr. Rafidah Aga Mohd Jaladin
Block E
Tel: 03- 7967 5058
rafidah_aga@um.edu.my

ida

 

Dr. Ida Hartina Ahmad Tharbe
Block E (EE 214)
Tel: 03- 7967 5063
hartina@um.edu.my

 aishah

 

Dr. Noor Aishah Bt. Rosli
Menara Pendidikan (EG517)
Tel : 7967 5096
aishahr@um.edu.my

azma

Dr. Azmawaty Muhamad Nor

Block C (Bilik Pengajar)
Tel : 7967 5132
azy_mn@um.edu.my

nazri 2

Dr. Mohd Nazri Abdul Rahman

Menara Pendidikan (EG503)
Tel : 7967 5172
eiy.nazri@gmail.com

norsafatul

Dr. Norsafatul Aznin A. Razak
Block C (Bilik Pengajar)
Tel : 7967 5132
safatul@um.edu.my

faezah
Dr. Norfaezah Md. Khalid
Block C (Bilik Pengajar)
Tel : 7967 5132
norfaezah@um.edu.my

fonny
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Dr.Fonny Dameaty Hutagalung
Tel: 03- 7967 5038 / 5021
fonny@um.edu.my 
Visiting Lecturers

nabeel 

Dr. Nabeel Abdallah Abedalaziz
Block B (EB 004)
Tel: 03- 7967 5171
nabilaziz@um.edu.my

Tutor / SLAB / SLAI

shamsuri

Ahmad Shamsuri Muhamad
Block C (Bilik Pengajar)
Tel : 7967 5132
shamsuri.muhamad@um.edu.my

 


Contact Us
Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling
Faculty of Education
University of Malaya
50603 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
Tel  : +603-7967 5035 
Fax : +603-7967 5010
Last Update: March 28, 2017