Department of Language and Literacy Education


Department Overview

 

Welcome to the Department of Language and Literacy Education!

At the Department of Language and Literacy Education, we educate students who will teach from secondary to tertiary education. Our Bachelor of Education in the Teaching of English as a Second Language (TESL) gives you a firm foundation for teaching English at the secondary and tertiary levels. The programme is designed to provide you with the opportunity to explore new developments in English Language teaching.

At the postgraduate level, the department is involved in Master of Education programmes in the following fields of specialization: Malay Language Education, Teaching of Arabic as a Second Language, and Teaching English as a Second Language. We also offer Phd programmes by research in language education. Our programmes are strongly recognized nationally, regionally and internationally.

When you join our department, you will be part of a vibrant learning community of undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well as academic members, who are actively engaged in key questions and issues that impact the teaching profession.

Head of Department
Lecturers


  jalil

 

Prof. Dato' Dr. Abdul Jalil Othman
Menara Pendidikan (EG 513)
Tel: 03- 7967 5093
jalil@um.edu.my

zawawi

 

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Zawawi Ismail
Block A (EA 112)
Tel: 03-7967 5191
zawawiismail@um.edu.my

jwlim   



Dr. Lim Jia Wei
Tel : 7967 5199
jwlim@um.edu.my

 

azhar  

 

Dr. Muhammad Azhar Zailaini
Block A (EA 113)
Tel: 03- 7967 5189
azhar@um.edu.my

chew   

Dr. Chew Fong Peng
Menara Pendidikan (EG 514)
Tel: 03- 7967 5111
fpchew@um.edu.my

 rashid 

Dr. Mohd Rashid Mohd Saad
Menara Pendidikan (EG 516)
Tel: 03- 7967 5020
msaadmr@um.edu.my

adelina  

Dr. Adelina Asmawi
Block E (EE 215)
Tel: 03- 7967 5192
adelina@um.edu.my

shanina   

 

Dr. Shanina Sharatol Ahmad Shah
Block E (EE 114)
Tel: 03- 7967 5078
shanina@um.edu.my

foziah  

 

Foziah Mahmood
Menara Pendidikan (EG 507)
Tel: 03- 7967 5084
foziahm@um.edu.my

 roselina  



Dr. Roselina Johari Mohd Khir

Block E (EE 209)
Tel: 03 7967 5056
kayjayrose@um.edu.my

huzaina  

 

Dr. Huzaina Abd Halim
Menara Pendidikan (EG 521)
Tel: 03- 7967 5069
huzaina@um.edu.my

zuwati 

 

Dr. Zuwati Hasim
Menara Pendidikan (EG 525)
Tel: 03- 7967 5123
zuwati_hasim@um.edu.my

fatiha

Dr. Fatiha Senom

Block C, Level 2
Tel: 03- 7967 5132
fatihasenom@um.edu.my  






 
Visiting Lecturers
Tutor / SLAB / SLAI

fatiha  

Fatiha Senom
Block C, Level 2
Tel: 03- 7967 5132
fatihasenom@um.edu.my

 

 

 


Contact Us
Department of Language and Literacy Education 
Faculty of Education
University of Malaya
50603 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
Tel  : +603-7967 5024 
Fax : +603-7967 5010
Last Update: February 20, 2017