• Faculty of Education
  • dekan_pendidikan@um.edu.my
  • 0379675000
logo
logo

Department Overview

Welcome to the Department of Language and Literacy Education!

At the Department of Language and Literacy Education, we educate students who will teach in secondary up to tertiary education. The programme is designed to provide you with the opportunity to explore new developments in English Language teaching.

At the postgraduate level, the department is involved in Master of Education programmes in the following fields of specialization: Malay Language Education, Teaching of Arabic as a Second Language, and Teaching English as a Second Language. We also offer Phd programmes by research in language education. Our programmes are strongly recognized nationally, regionally and internationally.

When you join our department, you will be part of a vibrant learning community of undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well as academic members, who are actively engaged in key questions and issues that impact the teaching profession.

Head of Department

Assc. Prof. Dr. Adelina Asmawi
Head of Department
TESOL and Teacher Education / Language Education for Community & Sustainable Development / Education Technology
ketua_edubl@um.edu.my
adelina@um.edu.my
 

Honorary Professor

Prof. Dato Dr. Abdul Jalil Othman
Honorary Professor
Malaysian Studies / Semantic / Discourse Analysis
jalil@um.edu.my
 

Adjunct Professor

Profesor Dr. George M. Jacobs
george.jacobs@um.edu.my
 

Dr. Mohd Rashid Mohd Saad
TESOL / Higher Education / Policy
msaadmr@um.edu.my

Assc. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Azhar Zailaini
Arabic Language Curriculum and Pedagogy / Arabic LanguageTeacher Education / Arabic Language and Islamic Education
azhar@um.edu.my

Assc. Prof. Dr. Zuwati Hasim
Teacher Education / Teacher Professional Development / Applied Linguistics (Language Assessment) / TESL/TESOL
zuwati_hasim@um.edu.my

Dr. Shanina Sharatol Ahmad Shah
English Linguistics (Phonetics and Phonology) / English Language Teaching Methodology / Teacher Education/ Teacher Professional Development
shaninal@um.edu.my

​​​​​​

Dr. Huzaina Abd Halim
Area Of Expertise : TESL Pedagogy / Creativity in ESL Curriculum / Performance in Literature Education huzaina@um.edu.my

Dr. Fatiha Senom
Second Language Teacher Education (SLTE) / Teacher Professional Development / Content and Language Integrated Learning (CLIL) / TESL Methodology fatihasenom@um.edu.my

Dr. Lim Jia Wei
Literature Pedagogy / Literature in Language Education / Reader response jwlim@um.edu.my

Dr. Simah Mamat
Pedagogi Bahasa Melayu / Pendidikan Bahasa Melayu / Kesusasteraan Melayu simah@um.edu.my

Carole Omura

English Language Expert US Embassy
comura246@um.edu.my

Staff Department

Mrs. Norkusharina Nasir
kusharina@um.edu.my

Tel :0379675024


 

Contact Us

Department of Language and Literacy Education
Faculty of Education
University Malaya
50603 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
Tel : +603-7967 5024
Fax : +603-7967 5010
Email : ketua_edubl@um.edu.my

Last Update: 16/06/2022