logo
logo

Department Overview

Welcome to the Department of Language and Literacy Education!

At the Department of Language and Literacy Education, we educate students who will teach from secondary to tertiary education. Our Bachelor of Education in the Teaching of English as a Second Language (TESL) gives you a firm foundation for teaching English at secondary and tertiary levels. The programme is designed to provide you with the opportunity to explore new developments in English Language teaching.

At the postgraduate level, the department is involved in Master of Education programmes in the following fields of specialization: Malay Language Education, Teaching of Arabic as a Second Language, and Teaching English as a Second Language. We also offer Phd programmes by research in language education. Our programmes are strongly recognized nationally, regionally and internationally.

When you join our department, you will be part of a vibrant learning community of undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well as academic members, who are actively engaged in key questions and issues that impact the teaching profession.

Head of Department

Assc. Prof. Dr. Adelina Asmawi
Head of Department
Area Of Expertise : TESOL and Teacher Education / Language Education for Community and Sustainable Development / Education Technology
ketua_edubl@um.edu.my
adelina@um.edu.my
 
Prof. Dato Dr. Abdul Jalil Othman
Honorary Professor
Area Of Expertise : Malaysian Studies / Semantic / Discourse Analysis
jalil@um.edu.my
 

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Zawawi Ismail
Area Of Expertise : Arabic Language Education / Arabic & Islamic Curriculum / Quranic Language Education
zawawiismail@um.edu.my

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Juliana Othman
Area Of Expertise : Language Teacher Education / Teacher Identity & Cognition / Bilingual Education
juliana@um.edu.my

Assc Prof. Dr. Chew Fong Peng
Area Of Expertise : Pendidikan Bahasa Melayu / Pendidikan Kesusasteraan Melayu / Penyelidikan dalam Pendidikan Bahasa Melayu
fpchew@um.edu.my

Dr. Mohd Rashid Mohd Saad
Area Of Expertise : TESOL / Higher Education / Policy
msaadmr@um.edu.my

Assc. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Azhar Zailaini
Area Of Expertise : Arabic Language Curriculum and Pedagogy / Arabic LanguageTeacher Education / Arabic Language and Islamic Education
azhar@um.edu.my

Dr. Zuwati Hasim
Area Of Expertise : Teacher Education / Teacher Professional Development / Applied Linguistics (Language Assessment) / TESL/TESOL
zuwati_hasim@um.edu.my

Dr. Shanina Sharatol Ahmad Shah
Area Of Expertise : English Linguistics (Phonetics and Phonology) / English Language Teaching Methodology / Teacher Education/ Teacher Professional Development
shaninal@um.edu.my

​​​​​​

Dr. Huzaina Abd Halim
Area Of Expertise : TESL Pedagogy / Creativity in ESL curriculum / Performance in Literature Education huzaina@um.edu.my

Dr. Fatiha Senom
Area Of Expertise : Second Language Teacher Education (SLTE) / Teacher Professional Development / Content and Language Integrated Learning (CLIL) / TESL Methodology fatihasenom@um.edu.my

Dr. Lim Jia Wei
Area Of Expertise : Literature Pedagogy / Literature in Language Education / Reader response jwlim@um.edu.my

Dr. Simah Mamat
Area Of Expertise : Pedagogi Bahasa Melayu / Pendidikan Bahasa Melayu / Kesusasteraan Melayu simah@um.edu.my

Mrs. Asfaruzaila Abu Samah
azaila@um.edu.my
 
Department of Language and Literacy Education
Faculty of Education
University of Malaya
50603 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
Tel: +603-7967 5024
Fax: +603-7967 5010

Last Update: 16/10/2021